skip to Main Content

South Africa Yellow Fever Requirement Change

On August 26, 2011, South Africa published online a revision to its YF entry requirement (the revised webpages are listed below). In Travax, the South Africa profile and the Report Builder YF requirement results have been amended accordingly.

The essence of the revision is that effective October 1, 2011, South Africa will require a YF vaccination certificate for travelers arriving from Eritrea, Sao Tome and Principe, Somalia, Tanzania, or Zambia. This is in addition to South Africa’s current requirement which applies to travelers arriving from countries with risk of YF transmission per WHO. The requirement applies to any transit in such countries en route to South Africa, including airport layovers.

Although the requirement for the additional countries will not go into effect until October 1, Travax has already been amended accordingly in view of the likelihood that Travax users are now advising travelers who intend to travel after October 1.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top